PDA

View Full Version : Am I limited to 110V 15 Amps?

Joseph Ragsdale
02-05-2008, 7:26 PM
I just recently moved into a new home built in 2007. I decided to convert one of my bedrooms into a workshop. It's a small workshop, but it's all I got. We all have to start somewhere :-)

I am not an electrician. However, I do work on avionics equipment on C130 aircraft. I install breakers, install wiring, repair wiring, etc. so I have some experience with electrical components and electrical safety, but it's limited to aircraft.

My breaker box is outside and there's no room in it for another breaker. I'm on a concrete slab foundation and I don't have "easy access" to the breaker box to run wire to it.

So here is my dilemma: I want to buy a 13" planer, 8" jointer, and 17" band saw.

Option one:

This would be a big headache, but a possibility. I could use the existing wiring from a 60 Amp breaker for my 220V electric stove outlet in my kitchen. I would splice the existing wire to new wire and run the new wire into my attic and over to a sub panel.

In the sub panel, not only would I have x number of breakers for my workshop, but also one additional breaker for my electric stove.

Is splicing wire to a sub panel "legal?"

We do some pretty interesting "combat wire repair" on a C130 :D

I was thinking about cutting into the wall behind my stove and installing a junction box where the outlet for the stove is. After which I can install a new outlet for my stove next to the junction box. If it's not obvious, the junction box would have to replace the stove outlet so I can use the existing wiring.

Option Two:

The lights and every outlet in my workshop are on a single 110V 15 Amp breaker. This is pretty limiting.

A "lunchbox" planer such as the Dewalt DW734 or DW735 can run just fine on 110V 15 Amps. However, trying to run a 17" band saw and 8" jointer will likely trip that breaker.