PDA

View Full Version : Old TS

Greg Ware
02-05-2008, 2:01 PM
A lurker repents. I have been amazed at the knowledge and experience that is shared on this site. I am fairly new to WW and have tried some of the tips and tricks I found here with great success. I am having some difficulty with my TS and am in need of some assistance. I inherited the saw from my father who bought it in 1958 and used it to help build our home and many other projects since. It's still in good shape, as he was very good at taking care of and maintaining his tools. Due to poor health he was not able to do much WW for quite a few years and passed away just before Thanksgiving this last year. Most of my experience and knowledge came from working with him, so I have a good understanding of the basics, but I have been bitten by "the bug". My wife would like to know if there is a cure. I have been teasing her about having my pay check set up for an automatic deposit to the local Woodcrafters store. Back to my TS... It's a Rockwell model 34-345. It has been in storage for almost 12 years. My older brother took it apart to take up less room and I have had a fine time locating all the parts and getting it put back together. The motor is still strong and works fine but I can't seem to get the blade lined up correctly. At first it didn't want to cut at all, just burned its way through even thin stock. After reading the posts found here and on other sites on the web I have been able to get it much closer and now it does cross cuts pretty good but ripping is another story. I have put a Freud combo blade on which has helped. (I have Freud blades on my other saws and really like them). I do not own a dial indicator but followed advise I read here about squaring the miter gauge and using a small block with a screw in the end clamped to the miter gauge as a guide I was able to line it up with the miter slot. Then using the same technique I lined up the fence with the same miter slot along its full length,