PDA

View Full Version : Figured Maple for my EC!

Chris Padilla
03-05-2004, 8:50 PM
I have scored some nice deals on curly and spalted maple lately. I have plans to use the figured wood in some raised panels on the EC (see Design Forum) I am working on.

This bookmatched spalted maple was very, very nice. I just hope I can work it okay. It is my first time with such a piece. It has pits and knots and a few checks and cracks. I was thinking to fill-in and stabilize certain portions of it with some liquidy epoxy...perhaps tinted a light brown or tan if I could manage it.

Is there a way to make epoxy very fluid? Can you just add something like mineral spirits or turpentine or something?

Enjoy!

Chris Padilla
03-05-2004, 8:52 PM
Here are a few more shots:

Jim Becker
03-05-2004, 8:59 PM
Oh, boy...Donnie's gonna be jealous since he's the king of "figured stock scores"! That's really nice material, Chris.

With the spalted panels, you'll just want to be very careful when milling it as the "whiter" stuff sometimes is a little punky. Sharp knives, light cuts and care should make things work out fine, however. If you need to fill some holes, the colored resin idea is a good one. West Systems is a good choice for that, IMHO.

Tyler Howell
03-05-2004, 9:06 PM
Nice looking stuff. Looks like good help too. Enjoy

Chris Padilla
03-05-2004, 9:22 PM
Ah, yes. That is my daughter, Francesca. She just turned 2 on 2/24. She's such a California blonde and the reason I look forward to comng home every night! :D

Donnie Raines
03-05-2004, 10:08 PM
Good looking stuff....the curl is pretty broad! Are you going to dye the curly or leave it natural?