PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good deal? Mini Max E16

Chris Cobb
02-03-2008, 8:14 AM
Hello Everyone -

I'm still a novice in woodworking (almost a year). I'm in the market for a bandsaw, intended budget is $1000 or less (really, less). I've come across this used minimax E16 for sale, asking price is $1600.

This is certainly more than I intended to pay, but I hear people talk about how great these machines are, so is this a good deal? Is it something I should consider (obviously, only I know my financial situation, so I'm looking for opinions on the percieved value here).

Here is the ad:

"Mini Max E16 bandsaw comes stock with a 2.5hp motor, and 0 blades for 1,695.00 (this is the Mini Max price) I upgraded it to a 3.6hp motor and i also have six carbide blades, two 1/4', two 1/2', and two 1' blades included (worth about 800 dollars), it also has brand new tires on it. The whole machine has been used less than 10 hours. If you would like to check it out go to https://www.minimax-usa.com (https://www.minimax-usa.com/) and select bandsaw it is the first one that comes up. "

Thanks
Chris

Jim Becker
02-03-2008, 9:28 AM
Chris, "IF" the machine actually has the purported low hours, and because it's including those blades and no shipping (assuming it's in your area), it might be considered a good buy at $1600. This saw is the "baby brother/sister" of the beefier MM band saws. There are several E16 owners here at SMC.

Jim O'Dell
02-03-2008, 10:32 AM