PDA

View Full Version : Drill Chuck for Turning Bottle Stoppers

Greg Cuetara
02-02-2008, 9:07 PM
I am very new to the vortex of turning. I have turned on my lathe a few times and turned one piece of wood round. I have a midi delta lathe with the hopes of turning bottle stoppers and pens.

I am attempting to turn my first bottle stopper so I went out and bought a drill chuck for my lathe.

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=683&filter=20777

I put the #2 MT into the end of the chuck and then put the whole thing into the headstock. For some reason it is not seating and when I put chisel to wood the whole piece of wood stops.

Please help. Is there a trick to getting this to seat properly? When I put my pen mandrel in it seems to seat properly.

Thanks for any help,
Greg

Josiah Bartlett
02-02-2008, 9:37 PM
First, make sure you have cleaned the preservative oil off the taper or it will just spin. Second, make sure the taper for the chuck matches the lathe, there are several morse tapers. Third, make sure the chuck really is a #2 (or whatever your lathe is) taper by comparing it to the other accessories you have.

If you have some prussian blue or chalk you can see if the taper is fitting the seat or not, you need full contact to get friction.

Feel free to give it a rap with a hammer to seat it. (use a block of wood to prevent damage to the chuck jaws)

Greg Cuetara
02-02-2008, 9:50 PM
Josiah,
Thanks for the advice. After some more tinkering I don't think the MT is the correct piece to fit into the midi lathe. It seems that the MT is a bit too long and it won't let it seat properly. I know that I do have a MT #2 on the lathe and the taper on the chuck is a #2 but again I think it is just a bit too long....gonna have to have a chat with the folks down at the rockler store...lol. Actually they have been very helpful to me thus far.
Greg

Steve Kubien
02-02-2008, 9:58 PM