PDA

View Full Version : Electrical/Wiring manuals - Suggestions?

Charles Wilson
02-02-2008, 8:13 PM
From an experience standpoint I have little to no experience with wiring. I am interested in learning how to do some household wiring. Can anyone suggest any books that are good teaching books?

Thanks in advance,

Chuck

Jim Becker
02-02-2008, 9:27 PM
I have and like the Black and Decker book on home wiring. It covers "most" topics.

Bernhard Lampert
02-03-2008, 10:41 AM
"Wiring a House" by Rex Cauldwell. Be sure to get the most recent addition, which covers the new NEC.
It is a very good book, not only teaches proper and safe technique, but also makes useful suggestion for practical use.
I basically used the book as a 'check list' when I wired my house.

Cheers,
Bernhard

Brad Townsend
02-03-2008, 11:34 AM
I'll second Jim's motion for the Black & Decker book. It's written in plain English and has lot's of good pictures. It's also easy to get, as it can be found at most home centers.

Wayne Cannon
02-03-2008, 1:00 PM
I highly recommend Mullin's "Electrical Wiring Residential". It's very good, but may be a little much for some. The Black and Decker book is likely all you'll need for most shop needs, however.

Rob Wright
02-03-2008, 1:43 PM
I also ditto Jim's and Brad's B&D recommendation. I would also suggest that you pick up a copy of "Code Check". It is a wire-spiral-bound book that really gets into the code and alerts you to potential problems.

-outlet spacing
-appliance outlets
-box sizes and number of conductors allowed

I picked it up at the BORG for a few dollars and it has been worth it. I have pulled it out during the rough inspection to show the inspector why I did something a certain way.

- Rob

Ed Jolin
02-03-2008, 2:57 PM