PDA

View Full Version : Question on Handplaning-New Woodworker

Jeff Urich
01-31-2008, 2:53 PM
Before I ask what is probably a very basic question, note that I am new to woodworking and new to the Creek. I've taken up woodworking as a new hobby (spent enough time and money on video games), so I am just beginning to collect tools and knowledge. I've read many articles and a book to begin learning and now am actually beginning to do things. I'm starting with a basic stepstool and have cut the top piece. The edge I cut is not straight, so I'm using a small block plane to even it out. In order to go with the grain I have to plane towards the long edge, but the piece is splintering. How can I smooth out a cut edge without encountering this?
Also, any recommendations on good, comprehensive instructional books? Also note that I live in the Alaska bush so wood selection is hard to come by except what the local hardware store happens to have in stock from Anchorage.
Thanks for helping the newbie!

Chris Padilla
01-31-2008, 3:08 PM
Welcome to the Creek, Jeff! Perhaps put your locality into your data. Just click on "User CP" and the rest should be self-explanatory.

I'm not sure I follow exactly where you are handplaning. Tear-out can happen for any number of reason but the chief one is that you aren't going with the grain in the particular spot you are having trouble with. Check the grain carefully or better yet, post some pictures!!

You might also head over to the Neander forum here at SMC if you are mostly going the non-electron route of ww'ing.

Again, welcome!

Sam Yerardi
01-31-2008, 3:11 PM
Welcome, Jeff!