PDA

View Full Version : New Here----Trying to build a little shop

James Murray
01-31-2008, 1:36 PM
Hello everyone,
I have been lurking for a few weeks here and am very impressed with the amount and quality of information being passed around.
I am a novice woodworker - I am wanting to begin building some tables and also make some guitars.
I have a shop area in my basement---therein lies the problem.
I would like to get some power tools - bandsaw, drill press, jointer, planer ---- but I want them small enough and light enough to get down the u shaped staircase.
So any and all recommndations would be appreciated.
I own Festool Circular saw, router, sander, and jigsaw as an FYI.

Thanks so much,

JM

Prashun Patel
01-31-2008, 1:47 PM
I'd pony up for dust collection first.

Lee Koepke
01-31-2008, 2:29 PM
Alot would depend on your projects. You also have to get the materials down there, then the projects back up.

I have a daylight basement with an overhead door, so its easier on alot of things for me.

Daniel McCurdy
01-31-2008, 3:07 PM
Most tools can be broken down to more managable pieces that 2 guys can move. Plenty of people have workshops in their basements, no problem there.

Sounds like once you have them down there, they'll be staying there...in other words, you won't be taking them in and out to go to job sites or something like that. Therefore, IMO "small enough and light enough" shouldn't be your focus. The focus would be more along the lines of what kind of quality can be found in the budget, and does it break down enough to get downstairs...which all should at the level you're probably looking at.

Dave Verstraete
01-31-2008, 3:07 PM
James
I am in the basement also but I have a straight shot down the stairs from the garage.
I would opt for the planer or jointer first, IMHO.

I'm a former lurker and relative newbie here also

Dave

Daniel McCurdy
01-31-2008, 3:10 PM

I'll second that.

Chris Padilla
01-31-2008, 3:12 PM
Hi James,