PDA

View Full Version : Learning hand tool skills -

John Dykes
01-30-2008, 4:33 PM
I’m not very good at coming “right to the point.” The Kentucky boy in me wants to ramble on in the hopes of relaying further insight and perspective – so that my mentors can better guide me. So I ask for your indulgence…

A few recent threads have pushed my thoughts to venture (again) outside of my comfort zone: handtools only, book sales, saws to buy, buying as you need, chisels, Keith’s recent post, etc…

With all due respect to a man I admire and hope one day to shake his hand, I’m a Normite. I’ve outfit 2 home shops – one pre-“.com,” one post-“.com.” (The first shop was sold to pay bills during the “.com bust”). On the two shops, I’d say I’ve spent over $10,000 on powertools – and books on powered techniques.

Let me rephrase that – I’ve spent well over $10,000 on tools and technique… and I don’t own a handsaw, nor would know how to use one.

Yes. I’m that guy… hey, but I’m trying!

I’ve learned much about the history, care, and use of hand planes recently. It’s been a real joy and blessing to be honest. I’ve used that knowledge (with considerable trepidation) on a substantial pile of 6/4 walnut for a 42” round table top. This past weekend – I glued up the flattest panel I could have ever imagined (the whole curved blade, tuned planes, starrett combo square, LV straightedge “thing” actually works!). I can say without reservation, I’ve never enjoyed woodworking as much as I do now – nor been as pleased with the results! I do better work now with a few hundred in new / old hand tools - than I did with many thousands invested in mass production grade tools.