PDA

View Full Version : Solid wood vs. homemade veneers

Tim Allaire
01-29-2008, 9:40 AM
I have some lumber that has been out for the past year and a half. My goal was to build a solid walnut desk. Because I do not have quite enough to complete my project, should I change my plans to a smaller desk or should I try to make my own veneers? First of all, I am not quite sure how to make veneers (thickness, lengths, never worked with them before-i.e. process). Secondly, any recommendation for wood to use if I use veneers(I am a teacher with limited fundage). Thanks.

Tim

Chris Padilla
01-29-2008, 11:06 AM
Well, normally a bandsaw is a must for resawing your wood into thinner pieces of wood that you would use as a veneer.

Veneers are normally glued to some kind of a substrate like plywood or MDF.

Veneers are often placed in vacuum bags to provide good/even clamping pressure to ensure they adhere well to their substrate.

With veneering, you may need to worry about the edges of whatever you are veneering. In other words, you'll want to add hardwood of the same kind you veneered to the edge. Your goal, of course, is to make a board that looks like a solid piece of wood.

As you can see, veneering can get expensive with the need for a bandsaw, vacuum press and bags, and other items. Veneering is often done for working with the more exotic expensive woods or fancier-figured woods (birdseye/curly maple, walnut crotch, etc.).

You might be better off and it might actually be cheaper in the long-run to secure the extra walnut you need to complete your desk. Also, look into walnut plywood as a way to extend your solid walnut. I think these two options will be better for you over getting into veneering.

Good Luck! :)

Jesse Cloud
01-29-2008, 11:08 AM
To make your own veneer you will need:

A good bandsaw with a very good blade
An excellent planer with sharp knives or a wide belt sander
A good long handplane and a sharp scraper for cleanup