PDA

View Full Version : Router Bit Set Advice

Ben Martin
01-26-2008, 10:18 AM
I just got back from Woodcraft bag sale and was able to "bag" (no pun intended...) the Whiteside 10 Essential Router Bit set, for $209.99 (originally $279.99) after 25% discount, it actually rang up $20 too much, so I need to get credited back that, so final price should be around $190. The set includes:

1/4" straight bit (1/4" shank)
1/2" straight bit
3/8" spiral-fluted up cutting straight bit (solid carbide)
Rabbeting bit with four bearings
1/2" dovetail bit, 10 degree
1/4" roundover bit
3/8" radius cove bit
45 chamfer bit, 1 1/4" dia.)
Three-wing slot cutter, 1/4" thick
1/2" flush trimming bit, 1 1/2" long cut

Now I see that Holbren sales the 7 piece set for $88 which inlcudes:

1/4" Straight
1/2" Straight
3/8" Radius Round Over
3/8" x 1/2" Rabbet
3/8" Radius Cove
45 degree Chamfer
1/2" Flush Trim

These are the first bits that I am buying, I am a newb, and wanted a good set that I could get some good use out of. My question is, why should I not return the set I bought at Woodcraft and get the set from Holbren? The difference in the sets is the 3/8" spircal, slot cutter and 1/2" dovetail bit. Are those three bits worth the more than double the price? I am feeling like I got ripped off. I don't want to get stuck with a set of bits that I won't use the 3 that I paid extra for.

Ps. I am also a little mad because I found the same set that I bought at Woodcraft online for a regular price of $207.99, so there 25% discount just brought it on par with other retailors...

scott spencer
01-26-2008, 10:22 AM
There's a big difference in price. I'd probably lean toward the 7 pc set, and apply the remaining funds towards specific profiles I wanted. The 7 pc set doesn't include an ogee, so that'd be one I'd add...YMMV.

Holbren sells the 7pc set for $80 shipped with the "SMC10" discount code...

glenn bradley
01-26-2008, 10:31 AM