PDA

View Full Version : How can I avoid plane tracks??

Edward P. Surowiec
01-25-2008, 2:11 PM
This is my first attempt at flattening and squaring some stock. I need a 4ft 2X10 milled true for a jig. I happy with my results using a LN 62 and LN 7, except for the blade tracks. These will not affect the functioning of my jig but I would like to learn how to plane without tracks.
I'm aware that the blade corners could be honed with slight bevel but my skills in that area are still developing and I did not want to screw-up a blade that was already sharp. Plus I needed to get my current project done and not spin off on a sharping tangent. Perhaps the answer is as simple as adjusting the blade so that it tapers to one side and planing from one edge to the other.
Thanks Ed

Sam Yerardi
01-25-2008, 2:20 PM
You can do as you suggest. It will help somewhat but if you're already laying down ridges they'll still be a problem. It can also lead to slanted paths planed into the wood (sort of like plateau after plateau) so keep that in mind and don't be too aggressive at first til you see how it will work. Two things as far as the iron is concerned will lessen if not eliminate the problem: camber, and rounding the corners. Rounding the corners is not as difficult as you would imagine. Setting the camber is a bit more difficult but if try either one I would start with rounding the corners. On my planes I use about a 1/16 or so radius on each corner. I just eyeball it.

Edward Miller
01-25-2008, 2:22 PM
The blades on your plane should be cambered -- that is the edge should be curved a little bit to take a slightly deeper cut towards the center of the iron than on the edges. There's a short video here that talks about this: http://www.taunton.com/finewoodworking/SkillsAndTechniques/SkillsAndTechniquesArticle.aspx?id=29711

Mark Rios
01-25-2008, 4:13 PM
Plane tracks can be avoided by not allowing planes to land in your yard.

:D

Jon Toebbe
01-25-2008, 4:47 PM