PDA

View Full Version : making room in my shop.

markus shaffer
03-02-2004, 9:24 PM
With a recent addition of new equipment in my shop, I'm looking for creative ways to maximize my floorspace. One thing that I have which is not in constant use is my plywood cart (see photo). To make a long story short, I have a section in my shop where the ceiling is pretty high. I was thinking of rigging up a chain hoist and hanging the cart up when I don't need it. At first I was looking at simple inexpensive chain hoists. But as I was looking on the internet and in catalogs, the idea of a powered hoist seemed much nicer. However, those are really cost prohibitive and beyond what I need. Then I got to thinking about winches. Same idea, but much cheaper.. I have no personal experience using them, so I was hoping someone here might have some advice on the idea. Plywood cart can't weigh more than 150 pounds, so I don't need anything super strong. Looking on Ebay, there are all sorts and very cheap at that. Current example below...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2382948235&category=632

My question is, given that I'm not planning on using this all the time and the weight issue is pretty minimal, will something of this quality suffice for the needs I've described? I appreciate advice anyone might have.

-Markus

John Miliunas
03-02-2004, 10:04 PM
Marcus, I'm certainly no engyneer, but I'd look at a couple things with that one. For starters, it's a 12V unit. You'd have to have a pretty sturdy 12V supply. Secondly, even though it can probably handle the 150lbs. you're proposing, the rating you see there is "rolling weight", not dead weight. Think about it: You can probably push a small or even intermediate car all by your lonesome. Now, try to pick it up!

I'm not a real big fan of HF, but I took a quick peek out there and came up with this one: http://order.harborfreight.com/EasyAsk/harborfreight/results.jsp?ts=Tue%20Mar%2002%2018:49:24%20PST%202 004