PDA

View Full Version : Router Table Construction Techniqes

Michael Lutz
01-24-2008, 11:37 PM
I am building an extension for the table saw to put my router/lift in. The current extension is 3/4" BB covered melamine on both sides which is pretty beat up.

I was going to build a similar table out of BB plywood topped with laminate. The top layer will be 3/4" thick with a support grid underneath. Do I need to apply the laminate to both sides which would create difficulties glueing the support grid or glue the support grid and finish the bottom with shellac or water based poly to seal the wood? The goal is to maintain a flat top.

I was going to apply 3/4" maple edge banding around the outside of the support frame. Can that be glued to the Baltic Birch Plywood? I haven't worked a whole lot with solid wood, so I am still learning about wood movement.

Is it preferred to run the laminate over the edge banding or run the laminate into the edge banding and trim the edge banding flush?

Thanks,

Mike

glenn bradley
01-24-2008, 11:44 PM
Do I need to apply the laminate to both sides which would create difficulties glueing the support grid or glue the support grid and finish the bottom with shellac or water based poly to seal the wood? The goal is to maintain a flat top.

- Generally if one side is laminated, you should laminate the other. Screwing your support grid from underneath should be adequate.

I was going to apply 3/4" maple edge banding around the outside of the support frame. Can that be glued to the Baltic Birch Plywood? I haven't worked a whole lot with solid wood, so I am still learning about wood movement.

- I have glued solid banding as thick as 3/8" to BB ply and had no failures in almost three years of hard use.

Is it preferred to run the laminate over the edge banding or run the laminate into the edge banding and trim the edge banding flush?