PDA

View Full Version : Question about using a dado set

Steve Tanski
01-23-2008, 8:49 PM
Hi,
I am new to fine woodworking and recently purchased a dado blade set. It seems to be working okay but the blades are leaving ridges in the surface that they cut through. Is this common? I expected a perfectly smooth surface. Could I be doing something wrong as far as how I have the blades and chippers positioned?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Steve

Mike Henderson
01-23-2008, 8:51 PM
You should get a pretty smooth surface on the base of the dado. What brand (including model number) and size is your dado set?

Mike

matt dumney
01-23-2008, 8:55 PM
I have a cheap dado blade set and mine leave some ridges in the bottom of the dado. Again, mine are a cheap set of blades but work for what I do.

Steve Tanski
01-23-2008, 9:00 PM
It is a Sears Craftsman 6" set. I don't know the model # off hand. I paid about $35 for it. Is that my problem?

glenn bradley
01-23-2008, 9:09 PM
the blades are leaving ridges in the surface that they cut through. Is this common?

If you check some dado stack reviews in some of the mags, a smooth flat bottom is one of the elusive and highly regarded performance features of better dado sets. In some reviews the Freud SD200 series (about $100) came pretty close. The SD500 series (about $200) generally takes the prize along with some other $250 and up contenders that routinely do an excellent job.

I have the SD508 and the dados almost look like they were done with a router. There is just a touch of "ears" at the outside edge if you look real close before assembly.

If you go to Google or Yahoo and search on 'dado stack review' or 'dado blade review' you'll find lots of stuff. The individual reviews are OK but the bake-offs are more telling.

Steve Tanski
01-23-2008, 9:09 PM
Sears Craftsman 6" set. Model # 32175.

Steve Tanski
01-23-2008, 9:22 PM
thank you for helping out a beginner

Lee Koepke
01-23-2008, 9:23 PM