PDA

View Full Version : Sign making in high school?

Scott duprat
01-22-2008, 12:12 PM
Hello all, I am looking for some help in adding a new machine to my classroom. My boss just came in and has $2600 that we need to spend, I am looking at adding a signmaking unit to my engineering/design classes. What should I be looking so far as a vinyl cutter/plotter that will allow us integrate into our curriculum? Suggestions?

My background is pretty wide ranging, have taught for 13+ years, from taditional industrial arts (wood, metal, electricity, graphic arts, drafting), computer science, and now pre-engineering at the Career Tech level (vocational). Have good background in CAD and image software (some corel - a long time ago, Photoshop, etc. Also well versed in machine tools and CNC programming and setup.

Any ideas? The whole setup should fall under the $2600 limit, apparatus, supplies, shipping. I would assume when the machine is bought it will be bundled with some design software, if not what should I look at for a base level student with average computer skills?

Thank you all for your time,

Scott

Scott Shepherd
01-22-2008, 12:22 PM
Good question. Only things I can think of might be Dye-Sub or Color Laser Transfer. If you go vinyl, unless you go Chinese, you'll have a problem with even the smallest unit and supplies for that price. Can't go laser for that price.

I would think Dye-Sub would be great for them. You could also do all the school fundraiser work as well. They could actually generate cash and make enough to buy new supplies.

I would guess you'd be pushing it right to the limit to get Dye-sub equipment and supplies, but it could get you started.

I haven't seen the Color Laser Transfer work, but that also could do similar things and might be a bit more flexible with products you can do. Mouse pads, coffee cups, and anything else with school logos on them, I would guess.

Just thinking out loud. Might be much better suggestions by others.

Doug Bergstrom