PDA

View Full Version : Total noob, what should I know?

Dean H Smith
01-22-2008, 8:06 AM
Well, I have done a little due diligence. I have the info sheets from Universal and Epilog. I met with the semi-local Epilog guy and had him do a test run on some acrylic. The 'final' product looked great, but was far too slow to justify the cost of the machine (12 minutes for an 8" x 8" engraving, which seemed very slow from the research I had done - but apparently he couldn't get it to work any faster).

That led me to explore other options for our product (a gaming board), but none seem to be the right answer (plus a laser would give us options for other products). Then I ran across a small Chinese laser on eBay. Right price (great price), but it didn't take long to find the (possible) problems.

So, I’m looking for some tips.

Are there any distributors of Chinese lasers in the Northeast? I figure seeing one in action and having support close by would help if any problems come up (although I realize that's one of the reasons why they are so cheap).

If I go the used route for a US laser, what should I watch out for? I know that some of the older models are "unsupported" by Epilog, how concerned should I be about that?

As for software, are there other options than Corel? I thought Adobe could be used as well, but I didn't see any support for it. I don't see myself doing much detailed work, so I don't need anything with tons of bells and whistles just yet.

Any other tips or tricks you can offer would be appreciated.

Thanks.

James Stokes
01-22-2008, 9:33 AM
There are faster lasers and there are slower. The chinese lasers are going to be a lot slower than the US lasers. You will have more problems with the chinese lasers.
If you want speed you will have to pay for it. The more power you have the faster you can run the laser. There are high speed galvo lasers that are extremely fast, but they cost.