PDA

View Full Version : help with air comp tools

russell johansen
01-22-2008, 1:59 AM
My dad is giving me an older air compressor. Not sure on the details except that it is a craftsman and lays down. I ve been wanting a pankake style to clean the tools, inflate the kids bike tires, etc....

But i also need to buy a nailer of some sort for installing molding. We are installing quarter round molding.

I would also like to use it to fasten my woodworking projects when needed.

Does this require two different guns? Is there a gauge, model, or brand that is easy to use (i'm a newbie still so ease of use is important)

Rich Engelhardt
01-22-2008, 3:47 AM
Hello,
I started with an 18 ga. brad nailer.( Craftsman)
I added a second 18 ga. nailer/stapler combination gun because I needed to fasten some cedar shingles with staples. (Taksforce)
I picked up a $49.00 (on sale) Coleman 1 gal compressor, which came packaged with yet another 18 ga. nailer/stapler.(Coleman - generic)
I added a 16 ga finishing nailer for heavier use. (Porter Cable)
Finally, I picked up a full head framing nailer. (Bostich)

The second 18 ga. nailer/stapler - a magnesium framed Taskforce is my all around favorite & gets the most use.

A 1 1/4" 18 ga brad will hold most glue ups as well as handle 90% of all molding except for crown molding. W/crown, I use the 16 ga and 2" fasteners.

If you shop around, you can find a lot of "package deals" on two or three gun combo's - an 18 ga, a 15 or 16 ga and a stapler.

Don't dismiss the stapler as being something you'd seldom use. A 1 1/4" 18 ga staple has an amazing amount of "holding power".

Magnesium frames aren't too important on the small 18 ga., but they are nice to have. Even a 16 ga. doesn't usually pack enough weight to make it unpleasant to use, unless you're doing a lot of overhead work.