PDA

View Full Version : Problems while ripping oak

Amy Leigh Baker
01-21-2008, 9:44 PM
Hi everybody. I've been cruising your forums for a couple days and decided to post some of my own. I have lots of questions, but I'll stick to my greatest problem for now. (FYI, I am what you would consider a novice... lots of rough framing work, a table here, a cute wooden shelf there, but always lots of enthusiasm. As I am just getting into things more recently, my tools are few & far between, and an actual shop is almost non-existent. But I see all that changing in the future :D )

I'm building a table, and after ripping some of my 1x3 oak stock to the required 2 1/4" for the legs, I am getting some blade rotation marks along the cut. They aren't horrible, but I am a perfectionist by nature. I tried taking a picture to post, but it wouldn't show up. I borrowed a small & inexpensive table saw for this work. The set-up is as follows... 24T blade, fence is parallel to blade except kicked out in the back about 1/8 inch. I push it through with one pushstick behind and one keeping the board on the fence. I wonder if the problem might be coming from not being able to keep the board on the fence on the back and it is drifting into the blade? Or perhaps when I pause to readjust the pushstick, but the marks are pretty much throughout the cut.

Any suggestions?

BTW, I've seen the pictures posted of everyone's work. Wow, I can only hope!

Mitchell Andrus
01-21-2008, 9:55 PM
Small and inexpensive saw, huh?. Right away I'm thinking blade movement due to a lightweight arbor, and/or blade deflection, and/or an unsteady or poorly adjusted fence. Not much you can do skill-wise when you're fighting with the tools.