PDA

View Full Version : First Lathe Guidance

Scott Harper
01-21-2008, 12:18 PM
Hello,

I am looking to jump into the lathe vortex for the first time and I am struggling to be sure that I am choosing the right lathe to get started with. Here are the parameters that I am basing my selection on:

* very small garage shop, so smaller is better
* no 220 in the shop
* I am easily scared by reports of problems in these forums. I want to get a tool that I have a very high degree of confidence will be good out of the box.
* given time, I can come up with the funds to get what I want, but in the short run cheaper will be easier to get approval from SWMBO
* I would like enough distance between the centers to be able to turn long handles for gouges
* I have never turned before, so I am not 100% what I will want to do. The initial interest that is driving this purchase is to do segmented bowls and vessels.
* I am anxious to get a lathe and get my feet wet

Based on these criteria, I have narrowed my choices down to 2 lathes: the Jet 1220 and the Nova 1624. Obviously, the Nova has several attributes that would be desirable (slower speed, more swing, more power, etc), however it would take up a little more space in my shop and I am unsure how soon I could get approval to spend that much. If it will work, the Jet would fit my shop and current finances better.

My concern is that I do not want to get something that will not be up to the task of segmented bowl turning. I am hoping that someone can either alay or confirm my fears about the Jet:

1) Does it have enough power and rigidity to work a 10" finished diameter segmented bowl? I am concerned about this because a segmented bowl will probably not allow me to use the tailstock to help support the blank.
2) Is the slow speed of 500 rpm slow enough?
3) Am I going to miss the swiveling headstock on the Nova?
4) Is there anything else about the 1220 that I should be concerned about?

Thanks,
Scott Harper

David Walser