PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw blade tensioning

John Piwaron
03-01-2004, 7:45 PM
I've seen the instructions for tensioning a Timberwolf blade that involves the visual observation of flutter. In fact, I've got two TW blades, one's a 1/4 inch, one's a 1/2 inch. Well, I'm not that good at that. In fact, I'd be hardpressed to say I see the kind of blade motion the instructions describe. There doesn't (to me) look like a clearly defined moment the blade is "fluttering" more or less than any other moment. So, I'm thinking about a gauge to directly read the amount of tension.

Has anyone here gone that route? I've read that the scale on the back of the saw (14" Delta) isn't very accurate, but for now that's all I got. I've had that saw for about a year.

I know this is another of those skills some or most acquire, like sharpening. But just like sharpening one can buy a Tormek (Yeah, I've read Steve Knight's take on the Tormek) with some jigs and make your sharpening woes go away. So it looks like a guage to directly read tension would cut to the chase, albeit at a cost.

What sort of tension values are we looking at? And are those values the same for all blades of a particular size? (1/4", 1/2", ect.)

Joe Suelter
03-01-2004, 7:48 PM
Good question John, it would be easier, I'm hoping someone will answer. I have the exact blades and saw you do, it's a pain.

jerry cousins
03-01-2004, 8:18 PM
hey john - went through all those dances you mentioned and finally did buy a tension gauge. the index on saws is pretty worthless.
i use the gauge to set the tension to 27k psi - it provides a consistency that allows for truer resawing (which is what i do mostly with the bs). when i change blades, tension it, set the drift i know that the setting will be stay good for that blade.

check with iturra design for information on gauges and bs's in general.

jerry

John Shuk
03-01-2004, 9:11 PM