PDA

View Full Version : Using Waterborne Lacquer on Ebonized Oak

Kenn Archibald
01-18-2008, 4:23 PM
Hello everyone,
I'm new to Sawmill Creek, but I have enjoyed reading a lot of your posts and tips in the past, and finally have a question of my own to post.

I run a environmentally friendly furniture production studio and avoid finishes that use harsh solvents or petro-chemicals. I currently use a waterborne (acrylic) lacquer which I love. Recently I've been trying to ebonize white oak using the vinegar and steel wool method (the color and control is great!) but I've found that when I apply the water based lacquer over the ebonized wood, it actually rusts and flakes off.

Does anyone know if there is a way to use the acrylic lacquer with this method of ebonization, or should I try and find a black dye that works instead?

If the latter is my only option, does anyone know of any high quality natural ebonizers or dyes?

Steve Schoene
01-19-2008, 4:51 AM
Why not use a sealing coat of dewaxed shellac under the acyrlic lacquer. About as natural and environmentally friendly as you get.

Jim Becker
01-19-2008, 9:38 AM
Kenn, I agree with Steve.

The water borne product you are using will not stick to "anything" and you're obviously experiencing one of those times when that is absolutely true. The de-waxed shellac will act as a barrier coat between the treated wood and the water borne finish. (It must be de-waxed shellac...the water borne will have adhesion problems with waxy shellac) And to illustrate what Steve means about environmentally friendly...you've probably eaten a lot more shellac than you can imagine since it's sometimes used as a coating on things like candy and medications. Basically...it's bug spit dissolved in alcohol.... :D