PDA

View Full Version : lens

Bill Morrison
01-18-2008, 10:26 AM
What’s the best way to finish the edges of ¼ - 1/8 3 –ply wood? I’ve got a 30W Accuris that came with a 1.5 lens and it’s great for the detailed stuff but I want to get a lens that will cut through ¼ wood and acrylic and keeps it’s nose out of the smoke. I’m a hobbyist but do sell some things every so often. Rather than trying to explain to each person what I do I make something and give it away. Like a small acrylic sign at an espresso stand, a lot of people see it and they can get an idea of what I do. Lot of people see it. I use 1/8” acrylic , make a saw cut in a base, router the base so it won’t be so plain looking and engrave contact info on it. They can see the work on the acrylic and the wood. Same with where I get my material. The lady set the sign on her monitor, lots of customers see it.
What’s the best way to baffle the exhaust on the laser? I thought about building a small box with some regular house insulation in it and just stick the exhaust line it it. Is there someplace I could buy something or would my idea work.

Angus Hines
01-18-2008, 10:40 AM
I would suggest the 2.5 inch lens for cutting anything.

As for baffling an exhaust I'm not sure why you would want too??? So now I'm baffled....LOL

Joe Pelonio
01-18-2008, 10:56 AM
Cutting would I use air assist at about 35 PSI and also have a strong enough exhaust fan to keep the smoke away from the 2" lens. Still have to clean it and the mirrors more often than with other materials. You do have your exhaust vented outside?

As for the edges of the ply, I normally will put a coat of clear on it before engraving, then another coat after that I also spray on the edges. If you don't want the brown/black edges then sand lightly first.

Bill Morrison
01-18-2008, 11:49 AM