PDA

View Full Version : Lasering Glass Question

Linda Butterfield
01-18-2008, 8:30 AM
I am new to laser engraving and experimenting with different substrates. Currently trying glass. After playing around with different settings on my 50 watt laser, I found some good results except for one thing.

I don't know if I'm lasering too deep but the end results seems to have some sharp edges when I run my finger across the area, especially if the graphic has some points as opposed to rounded areas. I'm using settings of 100% Power/26 Speed/300 PPI.

Is there some way to buff it or something to take the hard edges off?

I have noticed that if I lower the power to 75%, on some glass (maybe because it's cheep glass?) that I don't get an even result. Some areas etch and some areas you can just barely see the image.:cool:

Any suggestions/help for lasering glass (such as wine/champagne glasses/beer mugs would be appreciated.

Sam Yerardi
01-18-2008, 8:45 AM
I assume you are using a CO2 laser. One thing you might want to do is tilt the field that you are lasing slightly so that any back-reflection is not going back straight into the laser tube. Not enough to take the focal point out. You will have to experiment with this. Some materials have a somewhat high reflectivity (copper, etc.) and are difficult to lase. Back-reflection have a detrimental effect on the CO2 tube itself as well as affecting the resulting mark. That may not even be a problem for you but I would look at it. Lasing glass is a difficult operation. If you go to Universal Laser's website they used to have an article about lasing glass and what that entails.

George Elston
01-18-2008, 8:46 AM
Try changing your black to 80% ( do a search on "80%" for posts on how). Then wipe with DNA or acetone.

Bruce Volden
01-18-2008, 9:15 AM
Linda,