PDA

View Full Version : Need help using hand planes

Andrew Pezzo
01-17-2008, 11:04 PM
For christmas I got a stanley block plane and anant #4 smoothing plane. From what little knowledge I have about planes these are fairly standard run-of-the-mill models and will need some tuning up before getting good results. I am new to woodworking and have never used a plane before and could use some advice.

Someone mentioned to me that this site might have a local chapter of people dedicated to hand tools. I have done some research online but to see a plane being used and how to take care of one would sink in much better. Also done some searching for a local class on hand tools/planes with no luck.

Alex Yeilding
01-17-2008, 11:53 PM
Where are you located? That would help for recommending classes.

A plane can be very fun, but can be frustrating if you don't get it set up right. There are descriptions on the web about tuning planes, but the Pareto principle applied to planes is that 80% of your tuning results comes from the 20% of time you spend sharpening the iron--learn to do it well.

Before you learn better, you will almost surely take too heavy a cut, in the wrong direction, and split wood rather than cut it. Stick with it. When you find yourself taking shavings that are as thin as single-ply tissue paper, you will realize why folks like planes.

Steve Rozmiarek
01-18-2008, 12:46 AM
Where are you located? That would help for recommending classes.

A plane can be very fun, but can be frustrating if you don't get it set up right. There are descriptions on the web about tuning planes, but the Pareto principle applied to planes is that 80% of your tuning results comes from the 20% of time you spend sharpening the iron--learn to do it well.