PDA

View Full Version : Handyman club scam or not?

Paul Williams
01-17-2008, 6:38 PM
About every 6 months I get a mailing from "Handyman Club of America" based in Minnetonka Minnesota. It always includes a come on to "test tools, answer a few simple questions, and then keep the tool for your own use." Today I bothered to actually read the mailing it appeared to be a magazine subscription to a magazine titled "Handy." Has anyone had any experience with this outfit? Good or bad?

Greg Heppeard
01-17-2008, 6:41 PM
I had an old boss that signed me up for that....all I ever got was the magazine and they always wanted more money to extend my subscription...I have never renewed in over 10 years and I still get their junk mail.

Cary Falk
01-17-2008, 6:47 PM
I got a free subscription a couple of years ago. The magazine is worthless. You will never get to test a real tool. They bug you every week to become a lifetime member and for years after. It wasn't worth the price I paid for it.

Bert Johansen
01-17-2008, 6:53 PM
I concur. Junk. I get their stuff and don't even open it--just dump it into the trash.

Tom Baker
01-17-2008, 6:58 PM
Had a subscription for a year, hated the magazine.
Did get a couple of cheap tools; Speed Square, carpenter's pencils, micro screwdriver set.
Sill get mailings and lifetime offers.
I wouldn't go there.

Lee Schierer
01-17-2008, 7:12 PM
They make great spaghetti sizers and glue spreaders. I was a "charter member about 10 years ago. Magazine was so so. Never got any free tools to test, never knew anyone that did. If they have 10,000 subscribers how many tools would they need to get per month for every member to get a free tool to test in five years?? Answer 166 tools per month! Not likely to happen.

I did get lots of renewal notices and offers to buy members only stuff with their classy logo on it. I even got another "charter membership" offer two years after I canceled my original subscription.