PDA

View Full Version : Hello all...

Hal Forsen
01-15-2008, 9:12 PM
For want of a better term, I'm a professional "Jack of All Trades".
My better half and I have been lucky enough to make a fairly comfortable living as artists for nearly 20 years and I also have several tool friendly avocations.
I recently sold the old Shopsmith that helped get us started and the one tool now lacking in my small, but well equipped shop is a lathe.
My turning skills are somewhat rudimentary and I’d like to get better but do not want, need or have room for, a shop full of turning tools.
Most of the lathe work in my shop, up to now has been tool handles and such..
I have a little bit of turning experience; school shop classes and my dear departed dad was THE crackerjack T&D man, but on the wiggley ol' Shopsmith I was basically a bodger flailing away with the just okay tools it came with and making do….
When the Shopsmith went out the door so did all the turning tools…..
I've pretty much decided on the Jet VS 1014 which I plan on picking up at the local Rockler but I’d appreciate some guidance on tool choices.
I have no interest in pens but other then tool handles I'd like to be able to do fairly small turnings and the occasional small plate or bowl..
Please tell me your 5 most used turning tools on a lathe this size.
Also please list your favorite books or dvds for small turning.
No need for mention of sharpening gear; I have heaps; just turning tools and chucks etc….
Thanks in advance..........

Mike A. Smith
01-15-2008, 9:47 PM
Welcome to the Creek! One thing the folks around here are good at is helping you spend your money.

For a lathe that size:
Skew
Spindle Gouge
Detail Gouge
Bowl Gouge
Parting Tool
(Thin parting tool and probably 3/8" gouges, I like Thompson's)

Nove G3 Chuck

Just my opinion, you'll get lots of others!:)

Ken Fitzgerald
01-15-2008, 10:15 PM
Hal...Welcome to the Creek! Wade right in the water's fine!