PDA

View Full Version : Planer knives problem for Grizzly 15" planer

Phil Knuckles
01-10-2008, 5:28 PM
I have a mysterious problem with my 2003 Grizzly 1033 planer. When my knives become dull the handwheel turns backwards and the infeed table lowers.

So out go the Grizzly HSS knives and in go the 'recently sharpened' carbide tip knives made by Global Tooling. The infeed table still lowers. I called the sharpener, who is also a woodworker, and he says that he ground the knives with a 220 girt diamond wheel, and they where sharp.

So I take both sets of knives, HSS and carbide tipped, back to get re-sharpened. To our surprise, the HSS knives work great, but yet the carbide tipped knives cause the infeed table to lower.

Both sets of knives were sharpened at 35 degrees. The carbide tipped knives were bought new a few years ago. I have been setting knives in planers for over 10 years now. I checked the bed rollers and all is well. Both sets of knives are flat, straight, and look like new.

Bruce Wrenn
01-10-2008, 9:54 PM
If your Grizzly is like my Delta, there is a height lock on one or more of the support posts. Try it, you may like it. Sounds like the knives are setting up a viberation that is causing hand wheel to turn.

Jim Becker
01-10-2008, 9:59 PM
The problem makes sense if you think about it a little...as the knives get dull, rather than slicing into the wood, they begin to pound into it more and more. If you don't lock your table setting as Bruce references, that repeated shock will move the table down. The only reason your outfeed table isn't doing the same is likely because it IS locked in place.

Jon Dieterlen
01-10-2008, 10:45 PM