PDA

View Full Version : Worm drive vs. "regular" circular saw

Mike Hancock
01-09-2008, 1:22 AM
What are the pros/cons of a worm drive saw vs a regular circular saw? I have always used my B&D circa 1971 and never used a worm drive. I am getting ready to replace my circular saw with something less than 40 years old.

Thoughts?

I am not a pro, just a dedicated weekend warrior that has no fear tackling just about anything from framing to landscaping to deck building.

Thanks,

Mike

Bill Wyko
01-09-2008, 1:33 AM
A worm drive typically has the blade on the left side where it belongs:D I also prefer the balance of a worm drive. In addition to a skillsaw I now have a Festool TS75 and the hardest thing for me with it, is that I can't see the blade cutting the line. Fortunately the saw is accurate enough that I don't need to. I'd go with the worm drive for its versatility IMHO.

Rob Will
01-09-2008, 5:19 AM
I have a Milwaukee worm drive and various "regular" saws. It seems that the left blade worm drive comes in handy on occasion but we do 99% of our work with the more compact regular saws.

One point to remember is that worm drive saws generally tilt forward to adjust depth. When you are set shallow for cutting sheet goods, the forward tilt makes your reach more difficult.

Before you buy any saw look at a rear tilt conventional saw and think of yourself reaching across a sheet of plywood.

Here's one example:
http://www.dewalt.com/us/products/tool_detail.asp?productID=3027

Good luck with your decision
Rob

Prashun Patel
01-09-2008, 7:05 AM
Worm drives are heavier and more powerful than regular circular saws.

Greg Stanford
01-09-2008, 8:24 AM
I sometimes use a homemade guide for cutting sheet goods, I like a wormdrive saw for this as the motor does not hang over the guide affecting the depth of cut.

g

Daryl Upole
01-09-2008, 8:30 AM
Hi -

I have one of each. As stated, the worm drive is larger & more powerful. That, in itself, kind of gives you the pros & cons.