PDA

View Full Version : Tiger Maple Picture Frame w/pics

Jason Tuinstra
02-26-2004, 3:09 PM
Hello everyone,

I haven't done a whole lot of posting lately as most of my time has been taken up at church. Sorry about that. I certainly have enjoyed looking over the many projects you guys have posted.

I'm right in the middle of building a modular entertainment center but stepped back from that to build this picture frame for my wife. I've never built one of these before and was amazed at how easy this one was. I saw some plans in Wood magazine and decided to pop this one out.

The woodworking on this fame isn't the best (note the gaps on the back). Oh well. I'm not too bothered by that. The gaps actually help get the 1/8" hardboard out. That's my story, anyway, and I'm sticking to it :D I got really acquainted with my relatively new Performax sanding this figured maple. I don’t know how I did this before the ole’Performax came to town.

I slopped some BLO on the frame for a finish and called it good - at least for now. I'll probably spray some lacquer when I finish the entertainment center. Anyway, maybe some of you can whip one of these out as well. It only took me three hours - and that was with the slow sanding process of the Performax.

Jason

Donnie Raines
02-26-2004, 3:12 PM
Very nice. Nice simple design, and the curly looks great!

DonnieR

Tyler Howell
02-26-2004, 3:18 PM
As Always Jason;)

Keith Starosta
02-26-2004, 3:35 PM
Jason,
Very cool! What issue of Wood was that frame listed in?

Keith

Rob Littleton
02-26-2004, 3:46 PM
Jason,

Keith

Dude, I am sick of those frames.........

I had to make 20 for christmas presents. Shipped them to the UK and they love.

Seriously, I really like them and they are fun to make. I actually have a BUNCH of Xeroxed copies of the plan hanging in my shop coz I know Im gonna have build some more. The bigger ones are fun too....

Nice job....

Jason Tuinstra
02-26-2004, 4:35 PM
Jason,

Keith