PDA

View Full Version : need advice on marble

Michael James Smith
01-05-2008, 12:06 AM
Hi everyone, Thanks for all the great posts. I'm new to engraving and have a 30watt laserpro spirit. Been surviving the learning curve but I'm having extreme difficulty with photographs on black marble. I've seen some fantastic marble pics on here and other web sites with amazing clarity and detail, but I've been through cases of marble withvery little satisfaction of the quaility. It really seems to be a lot of hit and miss. I am including a few pics for critique. The first photo is the first I tried in my machine aboutfive months ago but don't remember the settings. The second is a photo I'm working on for a customer who wants more detail. I used 28 power 65 speed. I am using lasersketch marble, rendering greyscale at 300dpi, inverting and bringing into photograve using lasersketch params for black marble and mostly autoprocess, I am not altering the picture whatsoever once back in draw. I have used every possible combination of speed and power setting under the sun but not I'm sure where I should be at now. Does anyone have any recommended settings for a 30 watt laser? The other problem I've been having is sparatic banding throughout. I've talked to my sales rep and he thinks it is a power issue. We've tested the power with laser running and not noticing any fluctuations that would cause the banding. Has anyone else had this kind of thing happen? I'm not sure if it's my settings, but I would like to get clearer photos without the banding and the washed out look . I would deeply appreciate any advice or help from anyone would have suggestions on this subject.

Steve Chalmers
01-05-2008, 11:33 AM
In my experience with black marble, the best way to eliminate banding is to focus the lens. . .then put the table out of focus by .20. In other words, drop the table .20.

If your power and speed are correct, you'll not have a problem with banding again.

Steve

Michael James Smith