PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know anything about vibrator/tumbler

Perry Holbrook
01-04-2008, 8:55 PM
I currently use a sandblaster to clean up metal parts that I use in making some of my boxes. This years designs look like I'm going to have a lot of smaller pieces that will be time consuming to manually sandblast.

I keep seeing these small (5 lb capacity) vibrator/tumblers at Harbor Freight and thinking they should automate this process for me, but I have no experience with using one. My question is will these clean up small steel parts, not tiny, to give a sandblast finish and what media would I use and how full do you fill it?

Thanks, Perry

Scott Shepherd
01-04-2008, 9:37 PM
It's been quite a few years since I've used one, and they were always the larger, industrial units. We used a variety of media- plastic that looked like a small polished stone, small stones, and steel shot that looked just like a flying saucer. It all depended on what the parts were made of and what level you were trying to achieve. We used to throw small intricate brass parts in there and when they came out they were polished. We've also used the stones to cut burrs off the edges and smooth them out on the edges. It gives a unique look on the various metals, but it does almost look like it's been sandblasted. Of course of the part has an inside corner and the stone won't fit, then it doesn't affect that area. Really depends what you're trying to tumble, what you want to achieve and what it looks like to start with.