PDA

View Full Version : Is a radial arm saw a worthwhile tool to buy?

Jim Canniff
01-04-2008, 5:58 PM
Hi all,

First post here. I'm just getting into woodworking and will be putting together a basement shop, so will be asking lots of questions about layout and tools.

First one, is should I buy a radial arm saw? I used one in a woodworking class I took, but only because they did not have a miter saw. Right now for saws I have a 10" compound miter saw, table saw and small bandsaw, and of course jig, circular, etc. So, question is, should I get a radial arm saw? I see Craftsman 10" radial arm saws on Craigslist all the time for ~$100-. Which seems like short money. But, should I bother? Is money better spent towards a 12" sliding compound miter saw? And anyway, what are the advantages of a radial arm saw over the compound miter and tablesaw.

Thanks very much.;):)

Wade Lippman
01-04-2008, 6:22 PM
If you have plenty of room, and you can find a good one, they are worth having. Nothing better for dados; and the 16" crosscut is nice. They do not replace a CMS, as adjusting them to angles is a royal pain.
I got rid of mine because I couldn't justify the space it took up.

Simon Dupay
01-04-2008, 6:36 PM
I'd get one, there great for dadoes, wide crosscuts, and rough cutting lumber (safer then a miter saw). Get either a Delta, Comet, Dewalt, or Craftsmen older then 1970 (not like the one in the pic).

Bob Rufener
01-04-2008, 6:48 PM