PDA

View Full Version : Need help figuring out BF for project

Greg McCallister
01-04-2008, 7:44 AM
OK, I am pretty new to woodworking. Have built a few things mostly with hardwood ply and such.
I want to build the kitchen cabinets for my home.
Small kitchen, U shaped which would contain 12 foot of upper cabinets above refrig and stove to a corner cabinet and an aditional corner on the other side of the sink (window in between).
Lower would be L shaped with sink and diswasher with an 8 foot section containing one row of drawers and another standard door cabinet.
Doors will be raised panel and faces will also be hardwood. Cases of course will be ply.
My question is: with your vast knowledge of wookworking experence, how many BF of hardwood should I purchase for this project.
I know without a sketch it may be difficult to estimate and depending on the grade but can you give me a somewhat of an idea on what you think would be needed?

Michael McCoy
01-04-2008, 8:15 AM
I have an Excel spreadsheet calculator if you're interested. I'm not sure but I may have downloaded it from the Wood Central forum.

After posting the above, my curiosity got aroused so I did a Google and it turned out to be Woodbin. Search for "Woodbin cabinet calculator"

frank shic
01-04-2008, 9:23 AM
greg, if you buy a program like cutlistpro or get a copy of ecabinets which is free from the developer, the board feet will be automatically determined by the program.

Brodie Brickey
01-04-2008, 9:25 AM
The eCabinets software does help. Don't forget to put a dishwasher in the design.

Greg Cole
01-04-2008, 9:35 AM
And whatever the program burps out add another 15% or so..... 'tis better to have it & not need it that the opposite. Making banks of cabinets with lumber from multiple purchases will make the finishing process tougher as most likely the secondary lumber purchase won't be from the same lot as the first purchase.