PDA

View Full Version : My RAS Surprise

Al Rose
01-03-2008, 11:26 AM
A few months ago I purchased an old Dewalt MBF radial arm saw. I really didn't need it. I have a well equipped shop to do what I do. I'm just a novice woodworker that has fun building projects for the home and trying to fulfill the sometimes unrealistic requests of my wife, kids, and grandkids. I have a decent table saw, band saw, 12" SCMS, scroll saw, jointer, planer, router table, drill press, OSS, 12" disc sander and pretty much all the other things that I need ( clamps, drill/drivers, biscuit joiner, mortiser, etc, etc) to do my projects. So, what did I need a RAS for?

The MBF was built in 1957 and it came to me with all the original parts and paper work. I'm the second owner. I took it apart and cleaned it up. Since it had been in storage for the last 20+ years, I had to free up the carriage bearings, put new bearings in the motor and replace the motor start capacitor. I built a new table for it( the Mr. Sawdust design), put a new Freud blade on it, and fine tuned it( again using the Mr. Sawdust book). I ended up with a remarkably well built and totally accurate machine. I'm having a lot of fun learning about all of the capabilities of this saw. Even though it has a small motor (3/4 hp) it spins my stacked dado blades with no problem. It is perfect for making picture frames, crosscutting (up to about 14" with the fence moved back) and doing all the functions of a stacked dado set. Although it can be used as a rip saw and shaper, I think I'll stick to my table saw and router table for those jobs.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that I was totally surprised at what a good RAS can do. My whole woodworking operation is basically an expensive hobby, and I'm having a lot of fun with this old Dewalt RAS. So, although I didn't really need it, I'm very glad that I have it now.

Thanks for putting up with my long rant.

Jim Becker
01-03-2008, 11:38 AM