PDA

View Full Version : I think I want to build furniture for a living

Dan Barr
12-31-2007, 5:49 PM
I would like to solicit all of the advice anyone is willing to give. Im currently in the military. But when i retire, if this is still a suitable option, i would like to explore building furniture for a living.

Any and all advice would be appreciated. both on the craft and the business side of things.

thanks,

dan

Paul Girouard
12-31-2007, 7:08 PM
Retire as a Echo -9 or maybe a O-3 , or W-4 , you guys have any enlisted to officer programs , like the Navy's LDO / Warrant programs?

But sure either find a nice spot you can develop your clientele or consignment shops to sell out of as you go long now.

That spot should be near a big city out here where I live near a NAS on Whidbey Island the shops are small and the people not "AS well to do" I should get some stuff in the city , I think that volume of people that SEE your work must make sales easier.

Start keeping a woodworkers log of the time spent building what your building now so you have a better idea of the REAL time it takes instead of the ESTIMATED time. OK Lie a little to your self about how fast you where in building a piece , but NOT TO MUCH:D

Develop good work habits , shop organization etc .

Are you currently using a base hobby shop for your building ? Or a shop / carport in housing??

Take lots of photo's of your work , track that time maybe on a puter spread sheet , that computer time will cross over to your books keeping , how you write up proposals etc .

There so much more but those are starting points.

Brodie Brickey
12-31-2007, 7:38 PM
While you're in, get the highest security clearance you can. When you get out, transition to a high paying position that requires that high security clearance. Build up your nest egg, acquire the house, shop, and some land.

For now: