PDA

View Full Version : Porter Cable 890 router

Steven Bolton
12-28-2007, 9:36 AM
Anyone have a Porter Cable 890? I am looking for strictly table use. I read an article in Fine Woodworking that states Triton is the best for table use.

If anyone has an 890 I would be curious to hear how the bit changing and router life work.

Thanks

Steve Bolton

Greg Heppeard
12-28-2007, 9:39 AM
I have the Triton 3 1/4 hp in my table, but have used the 890 in other tables. The 890 is a good table router if you only need 2 hp. I do a lot of raised panel work, so I prefer a larger router.

Dennis Montgomery
12-28-2007, 9:47 AM
I have one in my router table mounted in a Rockler plate with the above the table crank lift. I like it. With the Rockler lift, I can change the bits from above the table which is a big improvement over the 7529 I used for years. It is a lot quieter than the PC 7529.

I have seen a lot of recommedations for the Triton also, but I have no experience with them.

Jim Becker
12-28-2007, 9:47 AM
The 890 is a nice mid-range 12-13 amp router and will work just fine in a table as long as your expectations are not to be swinging large cutters all the time. (Same goes for any other machine in the same class such as the DW618) Honestly, were it me, I'd look to a 15 amp router for this use, especially if it's going to be dedicated. In the long run, it might be the better investment.

Thom Sturgill
12-28-2007, 9:48 AM
I have the 890 mounted in a table using the fixed base. I have not done that much work with it yet as I have only had the router three months and it took about a month to get the table built.