PDA

View Full Version : Question for folks who use the Wolverine jig

jonathan snyder
12-27-2007, 1:13 AM
Hi folks,

I'm new to turning. I'm thinking of getting the wolverine jig. Is the skew grind attachment worth getting? I see from watching the videos, that you can sharpen a skew without the jig, but the jig does look helpful.

How about the Vari-grind attachment? Does a new turner need this, or is it something I might pick up later as my skills increase and I need to grind different profiles on gouges?

To start with, I'm interested in spindle work; chisel & other tool handles primarily. Plan to get the HF tools to start with.

Thanks
Jonathan

Gordon Seto
12-27-2007, 1:28 AM
With the exception of oval skew, skews are easy to grind with a good platform (such as the basic Wolverine). The skew attachment is not vital in my opinion.

You don't need the Varigrind to do the roughing gouge or traditional grind gouge. The Varigrind is only useful for fingernail grind. The fingernail grind is very versatile in bowl gouge and difficult to do without the Varigrind jig attachment. The side grind (fingernail grind) removes the two sharp ears of the gouge; therefore more friendly to use.

Gordon

Steve Schlumpf
12-27-2007, 7:57 AM
I agree with Gordon - skew attachment is not needed at this point. I do mostly faceplate work and find the varigrind gives me a fast, repeatable edge and is well worth the money!

Ben Gastfriend
12-27-2007, 8:36 AM
But if you ever get into faceplate/bowl turning and get a bowl gouge (which is reccomended for bowl turning), you are going to want the vari-grind attachment. It will make your life so much easier.

Bob Hamilton
12-27-2007, 9:53 AM