PDA

View Full Version : Source for handsaws?

Joel Goodman
12-26-2007, 9:08 PM
I would like to get a few decent older hand saws ( one crosscut, one rip). I'm looking for suggestions as to where to look (hopefully dealers where other creekers have had a good experience). I am no saw expert to say the least so any pointers of what to look for and avoid would be helpful. In terms of makers of course Disston is excellent but which models -- also what about other makers? These are user saws.

Thanks

Brian Kent
12-26-2007, 9:49 PM
I don't have any answers for you. I'll be watching to see what people say.

On e-bay I bought one Disston D8 for $6 and $8 shipping:).
The next several times I tried the bidding ended at $70 to $120:confused:.

Obviously there must have been a difference in the saws or the timing, but it isn't as automatic as some imply.

I have yet to find an affordable back-saw, so I hope there is another option besides e-bay.

Phillip Pattee
12-26-2007, 10:14 PM
Try Cooke's sharpening. http://cookessharpening.com/ He is located in York, PA. He also sells on eBay, usually as a Buy it now so you don't have to outbid a collector and you also don't have to waite. The saws will be just as he describes them and sharp!

Don C Peterson
12-27-2007, 1:11 AM
Try antique malls, I've found a couple of decent users there, or you can hit estate sales. Both these methods are very hit and miss, and while the estate sales are more miss than hit, that's where you find the really good deals. Estate sales are the source for probably 90% of the saws on ebay and in antique malls.

On ebay, just be patient, watch lots of saws, get an idea of what they go for and watch some more, eventually one will come around that seems to have slipped through the cracks. This is how I've acquired almost all of my saws.