PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening methods -

John Dykes
12-22-2007, 2:58 PM
Hello all -

Bit of a newbie here - and to hand tools in general... I have 3 nice planes (1930's #7, LN LA Block, LN #4) - and a nice chisel set. I've finally learned to "buy once..."

I've come from "Hand tools suck, who could use this stupid plane (the LN #4!!)" to "I'd rather push a plane than push a button." The key for me is in the sharpening of the tool. That said, I've invested in Shapton stones - and, while still learning, I really like them.

The lowest grit Shapton I have is a 320. Which I have trouble establishing a primary bevel on. I have a granite slab and sandpaper, but that is a bit tedious and running through so much paper bugs me for whatever reason.

I've researched and studied grinders, stones, and inverted sanders - but I'm on the fence on which way to go. The SS method has me leary of the belt sander method, but many seem to think that might be as good or even superior to the grinder (Leonard Lee being one of them...).

I also understand the grinder pieces a bit better (leaning towards the imported Woodcraft grinder, swapping in a Norton 60 grit stone, and the Veritas tool rest). I don't even know where to start on the inverted sander...

Starting from scratch, with limited experience - where should I be headed? And if the belt sander method - any recommendation on sanders?

Thanks and regards,

jbd in Denver

Wiley Horne
12-22-2007, 8:27 PM
Hi John,

You're gaining momentum down the slope, all right!

I'm all in favor of hollow grinding, however, something is amiss. You should be able to get a primary bevel on your A2 irons (or the Stanley vintage iron) with the Shapton 320. Or a Shapton 1000 for that matter, provided the bevel is not out of shape. I would suggest getting the stone technique down pat, even if you do intend to pursue the hollow grind. After all, you will still have honing to do, after the hollow grind.