PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone. I'm the new guy.

Jamie Siegel
12-17-2007, 9:43 PM
I'm not sure if this is the proper location for this introduction, but it seems appropriate anyway.

My name is Jamie and I'm from West Allis, WI. (Milwaukee, basically)
I am 37 and have been interested in wood working basically since I was a kid.
I've briefly done rough frame construction for a living but with out door weather conditions in WI, I opted for indoor work.

I am presently working as a furniture restorer. I do basic glue ups and repairs, some stripping, and a bit of finish work.
I have a small shop in my garage which keeps me tinkering around in my spare time, it presently includes a table saw, sander, drill stand, miter saw, a nice sized (4x8) work bench, and quite a few hand tools and power tools.

I am mostly self taught, and I have quite a bit to learn. I may be able to chime in from time to time with some experiences, but I will most likely be asking questions and researching.

I have repaired many chairs so far, but I am going to make from red oak, a rocking chair for my 4 yr. old daughter, and then a crib for my sister's future baby. I'm using a beat to snot and un-repairable kid's rocker as a template for the chair I am making, but will be running into problems with the seat. I need to research how to hollow out the seat and then how I figure out how to place the holes for spindles and arm rests. I believe I just use a sliding T bevel, measure off the old chair, and go to town. Like I said, I need to gather information on the topic. I'm going to go cruise the boards here in a minute and look for information on tools for the job. I don't have an adze and I don't really want to get one or take a forest worth of trees figuring out how to use it.