PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening for a New Turner

Victor Stearns
12-16-2007, 7:45 PM
Greetings to All.
I am seeking advice on how best to sharpen the various lathe cutting tools. I do have a method for sharpening my "other" chisels that works very well. But as I am new to the lathe, a little advise would be greatly appreciated. I currently have a slow bench grinder.
Thanks
Victor

Ben Gastfriend
12-16-2007, 8:03 PM
It's all different based on what kind of grinder you have. Is it one of those with a wheel on each side and the switch in the middle... is it one of those with a big wheel cooled by water?

Jude Kingery
12-16-2007, 8:25 PM
Victor, on the gouges I use a Wolverine grinding jig set up with the grinder (80 grit or 120 grit pink or white wheels), but for the skew, I just use the belt sander, also use it to clean up the tool rests. Works fine. Something to consider; hopefully you'll get a lot of responses to best determine what you'd like to do. Jude

Gordon Seto
12-16-2007, 8:26 PM
Victor,

The Oneway Wolverine and Varigrind are what you want for using with the dry grinder. You can find the video here:

http://www.oneway.ca/multi-media/wolverine_videos.htm

Gordon

Bernie Weishapl
12-16-2007, 8:38 PM
Another vote for the Oneway Wolverine jig and Woodcraft slow speed grinder.

Victor Stearns
12-16-2007, 9:10 PM
Greetings Again. I do have the Woodcraft bench grinder with a 80 & 120 grit stones. I was leaning towards the Wolverine Jigs. Does anyone hone the edge after grinding?
Thanks
Victor

Jon Lanier
12-16-2007, 9:17 PM
I was using my belt sander until a few days ago. This set up has been amazing to my tools. I have skew attachment with the Wolverine Jig, which now beats the 1 inch belt any day.

http://img86.imageshack.us/img86/9443/grindertu9.jpg

Rasmus Petersen
12-17-2007, 2:00 AM
im in on the wolverine jig! havent got the skew attacment do those freehand. but the varigrind this is a very handy tool a must have.

Rasmus

Dean Thomas
12-17-2007, 4:23 AM