PDA

View Full Version : What's a good combo blade for an early Unisaw?

Pete Bradley
12-16-2007, 2:38 PM
I'm just starting a resto on a 1940 Unisaw with a 1HP bullet motor. I'm an amateur woodworker. I expect to use the saw for crosscuts in solid hardwoods and rough cuts to break down sheet goods and softwoods from time to time. I have a 20" band saw (1949, fabulous machine) which I expect I'll continue to use for most rips.

I'm sure there are some people out there with experience on similar machines. I'm interested in recommendations on a good combination blade which I can keep on the saw most of the time. Given that the motor was intended for steel teeth, would a thin-kerf blade be best?

Please no posts telling me to upgrade to a 5HP motor from Grizzly. That's not what this project is about.

Thanks,

Pete

David Weaver
12-16-2007, 2:52 PM
Someone is going to tell you a thin-kerf Forrest woodworker II, so it might as well be me. I think Amazon has been running sales on them lately and I've seen people say that you can get them for $73-$80 shipped lately.

I've used one on a craftsman cheapo contractor saw and on a delta hybrid of mine - in both cases, it was the single thing that did, by far, the most to increase the saw performance. Results with it are great.

Scott Spencer has a nice list of blades, price and how they perform. You could probably pick a blade out of his list if it's thin kerf, and run with it.

You might change your mind about the ripping once you use a good thin-kerf blade on that saw. It's a lot cheaper to use a good table saw blade than it is to run through bandsaw blades, and your saw will probably handle a good thin kerf blade pretty well on 4/4 and sheet goods on the saw. Not to mention, if the saw is tight, there won't be much work to do to clean up the edge - in some cases, none if it's not exposed.

Bill Huber
12-16-2007, 4:15 PM