PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about purchasing a lathe

jonathan snyder
12-16-2007, 2:26 PM
Hi folks,

I usually hang out in Neanderthal Haven and try to avoid tailed tools when I can, but I really need some chisel handles. I am contemplating the purchase of a Jet Mini Lathe, as they seem to get good reviews and are on sale through the end of the month. I have never used a lathe, so I'm a total beginner. To start out I'm interested in making tool handles and furniture knobs. Might like to try pens, small bowls or other such things one day.

The three Jet lathes which are on sale are the #708375VS VARIABLE SPEED 10" × 14" INDEXING MINI LATHE $329, the # 708375 10" × 14" INDEXING MINI LATHE $249, and the #708376 12" × 20" MINI LATHE $329. The jet web site seems to be down at the moment, but here is a link to the sale flyer Sale (http://woodworking.jettools.com/Media.aspx?nav=Promotions)

Is the variable speed lathe worth the extra money, or would I be better served to get the larger 12" for the same price?

I realize the variable speed still requires belt changes to take advantage of all the speeds.

How often does one change speeds?

The jet lathes are really the only thing available locally, that fit my budget.

Thanks
Jonathan

George Guadiane
12-16-2007, 2:41 PM
Variable speed and reverse are the two things I appreciate about my PM 3520...
I also like being able to turn bigger pieces, but if I had were going to buy another "best lathe" and I didn't want to invest that much again, the variable speed and the reverse for sanding and finishing would be the things I would reach for. Most of the really beautiful things can be scaled up or down to fit the machine.
JMHO

Jude Kingery
12-16-2007, 2:49 PM