PDA

View Full Version : Jointer

Roger Brandel
12-15-2007, 10:33 PM
I am new to Sawmill Creek and I have a question for all you "old pro's" out there. I am working on devleping a list of tools/equipment for my new woodshop and have run into a dilemma. I am looking to outfit my shop with a 12" jointer, but want some opinion's on the style - parrellelogram or dovetailed table? Also, does anybody have any particular brand preferences?
Any information will be very appreciated.
Thanks,
Roger Brandel

Jim Becker
12-15-2007, 10:41 PM
Welcome to SMC!

Honestly, it almost doesn't matter if you are going to be like most folks and never change the cutting depth. Parallelogram type jointers keep the leading edge of the infeed table the exact same distance from the cutters no matter what the depth setting is. But if you don't change it...it's not going to vary, anyway. So pick the machine you like the best and fits your budget.

As a one-person shop, I also made the decision a few years ago to go with a jointer/planer combo, rather than separates. Better space utilization for me and the quality of my machine (a Mini Max) is outstanding. Mine is ~14" (350mm) but typical sizes are 12", 14", 16" or 20", with the investment going "very North" as you get up to that top size range.

keith ouellette
12-15-2007, 10:46 PM
I have had both parallelogram and dove tail and think the para. is a lot easier to set up. If your tables are out of wack all you have to do is turn some bushings (4 on each table) and reset the tables. You can tilt them towards and away from the fence and move the front or back of each table up and down independently. With a dove tail all you can do is shim it.
Go parallelogram.

Roger Brandel
12-15-2007, 10:48 PM
Thanks Jim. I have also been looking at the jointer/planer combo's but was a little fearful about accuracy? Much more moving parts on something that normally should not move much. Your thoughts/experience?
Roger

Jim Becker
12-15-2007, 10:51 PM