PDA

View Full Version : Inlay Question

Art Davis
12-14-2007, 11:48 AM
As a fairly new woodworker I haven't yet tackled inlays. On my latest project, I want to put a narrow strip of exotic wood (Wenge) into a slot in a type of rudimentary inlay, but I am having troubles getting an acurate width strip to insert. I thought I would just use the kerf from my tablesaw blade and cut a thin piece to fit. I am using a Delta contractor's saw with a Biesemeyer fence. I am using a Forrest WWII thin kerf blade, which I miked at 7/64 inch. So I cut a strip, say two inches wide, then move my fence to the left by 7/32"---but the cutoff strip turns out to be 1/8".

Can someone explain the birds and bees of cutting thin strips to me? I did a search here on "inlay" but really didn't see the answer to the question. If it has been discussed extensively, I'd appreciate getting the link(s).

I am using a Grripper, so am okay cutting the thin strips, safetywise.

Thanks.

Art

P.S. Wenge seems awfully hard. Any suggestions on working it?

Todd Bin
12-14-2007, 12:08 PM
My setup is kinda the high tech way. But, I would cut the inlay strip first. Then measure the exact thickness using a digital micrometer (Let's say I got 3/32"). Then I would insert a small (say 1/16th) bit into my router and use my microfence edge guide to cut the groove exactly 3/32" +0.002 to fit the inlay exactly. It takes two passes with the router to get the inlay groove exact.

If you use some other method, then to get a tight fit try beveling the back edge of the inlay strip. That makes it a lot easier to get it into the groove.

julie Graf
12-14-2007, 1:06 PM
it sounds like what you are doing is called ribbon inlay. i think fww did an article a few years back on it. I do it alot, and it's really easy once you get it down.