PDA

View Full Version : Basic tablesaw use tips?

Sean Havins
12-11-2007, 1:22 PM
Hi Folks,

I am the proud owner of a new Jet JPS-10TS table saw. I have never used a table saw before and need some safety pointers before I start the big project this weekend.

I did some test cuts on some small pieces while I was checking the setup and could not come up with a comfortable way of clearing the small piece of wood that is held next to the spinning blade by the blade guard after I made my cut. Do I just flick it with a pusher stick?
I need to rip a truck load of plywood flooring and thinner ceiling panels from 8 X 4 to 8 X 2. I have two support stands with ball bearings on top to take the cut sheets. What is the best position to hold the 8 X 4 sheet of plywood to feed it in to the table saw? Should I hold the rear corner farthest from the fence so I’m not standing directly in front of the blade and can push the panel against the fence as I feed it in?
Does anyone knows of a good source of this type of info that I can lay my eyes on quickly? Or Can i just keep the questions coming here as they occur to me?
Thanks for your time.

Sean

Chuck Lenz
12-11-2007, 1:36 PM
Sean, maybe this link will answer your questions, there are two pages. http://www.woodcraft.com/articles.aspx?articleid=317 I'm sure your allways welcome back if you have more questions.

Al Willits
12-11-2007, 1:39 PM
I shut the saw off if in doubt, I've launched enough wood alreay that its much easier to stop the saw than take a chance, as your skills increase you may find ways to remove them small scraps from next to the blade, but either way be careful.

I give up trying to cut large sheets of plywood on a table saw, to easy to feed incorrectly and with out a riving knife/splitter I find I can launch even more wood at a very high rate of speed.

I picked up the EZ Smart system or ya can use a straight edge and a circular saw to cut down to a manageable size.

Al...who has a better lauch record than NASA