PDA

View Full Version : Deciding on frame dimensions

Raymond Stanley
12-10-2007, 6:19 PM
I am building doors for a cheap bookcase that we already have...

How do you decide how wide a stile on a frame and panel door should be?

I heard 2.25" is a good starting place...do other people use this as a starting place. What are the range of widths that people use, and what makes them choose wider or slimmer widths? Any tips on how to decide what would look good? I could try a cardboard mockup, but I'm not sure if I could really get a feel from it with that. Am I just overthinking this?

Thanks!
-Ray

Bill Houghton
12-10-2007, 7:16 PM
I like mockups - I'm not very good at drawing, and they help me see the real thing.

Some of the advice I've read involves standard proportions, like the golden rectangle, but can't now recall how to apply it to stile width.

Glenn Madsen
12-10-2007, 7:21 PM
I mock up with scrap wood of similar heft and color. And generally build at 2".

But it depends on the size of the project, the scale of the panel, and the color blend with other things going on in the room.

Here's the deal. Most of my stuff is made with maple and birch, with accent pieces of cherry. At least the rail and stile pieces are. So I often will mill a lot of that stock at once, and leave it on the wood rack, available for when I get to building doors. Reminds me, I need to go get some more, and finish some for the daughter-in-law...:rolleyes:

Alan Turner
12-11-2007, 6:57 AM
One way to dimension frame members is to use a ratio, with the bottom rail at 3", the top rail at 2/3 of that, or 2", and the stiles at 3/4 of the top rail, or 1-1/2". I believe that Ian Kirby writes that this is the traditional English method of determining the width of frame members. What you start with will depend on the ultimate size of the F&P construction, whether a door or panel. The heavier bottom rail tends to ground the panel nicely.

Ron Brese
12-11-2007, 8:27 AM