PDA

View Full Version : Basic ?: Getting started with Bowl Turning

Mark Gordon
12-10-2007, 11:59 AM
Hello All-

I have a basic question: I have some experience with turning, mostly spindles, table legs, baseball bats, ETC. I want to start bowl turning, but I have no experience, and trying it uneducated seemed to be a mistake (several catches, almost injuries.)

What would you guys suggest as the best way to start: Take a woodcrafter's course, find a turning group and ask for a lesson, or get s video.

I have a standard set of tools, a Jet 14 x 36 lathe, and all fingers.

Thanks

Neal Addy
12-10-2007, 12:05 PM
The answer is yes to all of the above. Whatever you have time and funds for will pay off in the end.

A class on bowl turning at WC would be a good start. I'd also get one of Bill Grumbine's DVD's. They give you a good introduction into the obsession.

Kevin McPeek
12-10-2007, 1:00 PM
One of the biggest mistakes is people using a spindle roughing gouge to rough out a bowl. Make sure to use a bowl gouge. I'll second the Grumbine videos, I have seen quite a few videos and I think that was the most helpful to me. All of your other ideas are valid as well. And remember it was just firewood when you started!

Bernie Weishapl
12-10-2007, 1:05 PM
I agree all of the above. Bill's DVD's are great. He takes you thru and shows each cut several times from different angles.

Alex Elias
12-10-2007, 1:45 PM
Also you need bouwl gouges

Ben Gastfriend
12-10-2007, 3:17 PM
I second the don't use a roughing gouge idea. Ouch. It bent in half... good thing it was only a cheap closeout one for 3 bucks at PSI.

I bought a 1/2 bowl gouge and ground the two wings back on either side so they don't catch as often.

Mike A. Smith
12-10-2007, 3:45 PM