PDA

View Full Version : cutting slots in PVC Sheeting

Terry Barr
12-09-2007, 7:54 AM
I have over 1500 slots to cut in dividers for a few boxes i'm making. I'm using 1/4" PVC sheets that was supplied. I am looking for suggestions on what type blade to use on table saw? to cut the stuff down to the size I used a 50 tooth combination blade (HF special) but when I try to stack several pieces together it melts the pieces together. any help is welcome.

thank to all terry

Bill Ryall
12-09-2007, 8:24 AM
I am no expert, but cut a lot of PVC, acrylic and lexan for some of my commercial work. YMMV

I have found any time I have tried to cut PVC on a tablesaw, the heat of the friction of the blade melts the edges of the PVC slightly. Same thing with using a router.

I have found the best results with the 110 tooth (cheap) plywood blades from the BORG. You need to clean them frequently as the PVC will melt onto the blade and begin to build up. I usually use a razor blade scraper.

No matter how you cut it, it makes one heck of a mess and STINKS!

Todd Burch
12-09-2007, 8:31 AM
Like Bill, I use a special purpose blade. I have an 80 tooth blade for stuff like that. It has an agressive rake angle. I think it's a Leitz.

Todd

(On another note, I typically don't stack cut when crosscutting on the tablesaw. I see it as too big an opportunity for an unguided square frisbee.)

Larry Conely
12-09-2007, 8:35 AM
I don't know if this will fit your application, but I have found that a bandsaw is much more suitable. Less friction heat is created, but the quality of the cut is compromised.

Paul Joynes
12-09-2007, 9:23 AM